The following poem was written by one of my students of the 1st grade of Junior High School, the equivalent of seventh grade in the US. They are studying English as a second language. This is one of the best compositions; take into consideration that for some of them, including this young lady, this is the first time they face English at school in a more formal way.

When I usually see my friend,

I wish that it has no end,

when you are with me I fly,

I wish you don’t have to say goodbye,

When I stay with you I feel so good,

I wish… Stay with me you could.

Best friend forever, friend and me

picking up flowers and climbing trees,

a shoulder to cry on, and secrets to share,

warm hearts and hands that really care.

She took five minutes of their time and wrote it as part of the activities in written expression.